Welcome to our blog!

newwave.zulkikreegavinrarathorgagra.info

like this phrase Duly topic..

Menu

Category: DEFAULT


My House - Metronomy - Summer 08

12.01.2020at 23:46 | Author : Gardarr | Category : DEFAULT | : Thumbtack


Following The English Riviera 's success, Joe Mount reclaimed some of his fondness for the unexpected, first with the introspective, Motown-tinged Love Letters and then with Summer As the title suggests, the fifth Metronomy album finds him reflecting on that period of time, just after the release of Nights Out and just before his wonky synth pop project won widespread acclaim.

It's an approach that could be called back to basics, if the basics weren't so unusual: though the instincts that made The English Riviera possible were already there, Nights Out 's chronicle of a disastrous night on the town sounded like club bangers played on toy instruments.

Here, Mount filters those gawky grooves through years of experience, though the moody, slow-building finale "Summer Jam" proves he's as mischievous as ever.

The album's first half, however, delivers bona fide jams: "Back Together" alternates between lurching riffs and luminous disco-funk as Mount reminisces about a long-ago lunch date, recalling the off-kilter catchiness of Nights Out 's "My Heart Rate Rapid" while proving that not all nostalgia is comforting. The effects of time are more apparent on "Miami Logic," which takes a more expansive approach to rubbery textures and rhythms, and on "Old Skool," an envious portrait of posh West London frenemies that's funkier and meaner than anything on Nights Out.

Meanwhile, "16 Beat" celebrates the love between a boy and his drum machine -- quite possibly Summer 08 's longest-lasting relationship. However, Mount 's reflections on this era don't occur in a vacuum, and the melancholia of his later work resurfaces on Summer 08 's second half.

Sleekly bittersweet songs like "Night Owl" and "My House" evoke The English Riviera 's winning blend of motion and emotions, while "Hang Me Out to Dry," a pulsing duet with Robyn mixed by Errol Alkan who helped raise Mount 's profile back in the day , continues Metronomy 's tradition of inspired collaborations. Monday 16 September Tuesday 17 September Wednesday 18 September Thursday 19 September Friday 20 September Saturday 21 September Sunday 22 September Monday 23 September Tuesday 24 September Wednesday 25 September Thursday 26 September Friday 27 September Saturday 28 September Sunday 29 September Monday 30 September Tuesday 1 October Wednesday 2 October Thursday 3 October Friday 4 October Saturday 5 October Sunday 6 October Monday 7 October Tuesday 8 October Wednesday 9 October Thursday 10 October Friday 11 October Saturday 12 October Sunday 13 October Monday 14 October Tuesday 15 October Wednesday 16 October Thursday 17 October Friday 18 October Saturday 19 October Sunday 20 October Monday 21 October Tuesday 22 October Wednesday 23 October Thursday 24 October Friday 25 October Saturday 26 October Sunday 27 October Monday 28 October Tuesday 29 October Wednesday 30 October Thursday 31 October Friday 1 November Saturday 2 November Sunday 3 November Monday 4 November Tuesday 5 November Wednesday 6 November Thursday 7 November Friday 8 November Saturday 9 November In stock, shipping now.

This site uses cookies. For information, please read our cookies policy. For information about cookies that are required for this website to operate correctly, please read our cookies policy.

Google Analytics is used to track usage of this website anonymously. Turning off will mean that your IP address is not sent to Google. Summer Metronomy July 1, Add to Wishlist. Listen to this album and millions more. First month free. Summer 08 is the fifth studio album by English electronic band Metronomy, released on 1 July by Because Music.

Reviews Review Policy. Flag as inappropriate. See more. Why Make Sense? Hot Chip. It was released in the United Kingdom on 18 May via Domino and was co-produced by the band and English record producer Mark Ralph.

Jul 01,  · Summer 08 is a plush, gleefully eccentric set that, despite its title, echoes the sideways pop of Bowie and Japan—all while Mount reflects, semi-cheekily, on his life before fame. The result is strangely moving, from the creeping nostalgia of “Mick Slow” to the melancholic pitter-patter of the Robyn-enriched “Hang Me Out to Dry.”.

Share it :

Tags :

Oppps! Empty"


Sorry!No related Post.

oohani_s comments
  1. Metronomy "Back Together": I remember when I met you we had a right old gas Gas, gas, You and I have got to get back together And even when I'm low on time I swear, I spend it with you boy You needn't worry, it's alright "Summer 08" () Back Together. Miami Logic. Old Skool. 16 Beat. Hang Me Out To Dry. Mick Slow. My House.
  2. Jul 01,  · Get all the lyrics to songs on Summer 08 and join the Genius community of music scholars to learn the meaning behind the lyrics.
  3. Jul 01,  · Summer 08 feels like Metronomy's most darkly complete, and complex album. The simplistic 80s sound and coy lyricism allow for more fascination Summer 08 feels like Metronomy's most darkly complete, and complex album. The simplistic 80s sound and coy lyricism allow for more fascination to shine through as the music takes you to dim, melancholic newwave.zulkikreegavinrarathorgagra.infoinfos:
  4. The song is one of my favourites from the new record and gives a wonderful taste of how eclectic the album is.” — Joe “Years ago a friend of mine gave me a VHS tape of the MTV show ‘ Minutes’. It’s something I’d get him to do every so often as I was a bit obsessed with music TV at the time. METRONOMY FOREVER.
  5. Features Song Lyrics for Metronomy's Summer 08 album. Includes Album Cover, Release Year, and User Reviews.
  6. Metronomy Lyrics "My House" I called you late again Did it to wind you up Don't fall asleep again We can recall when we get to my house [4x] Yeah, I love my house (My house, my house) AZLyrics. M. Metronomy Lyrics. album: "Summer 08" () Back Together. Miami Logic. Old Skool. 16 Beat. Hang Me Out To Dry. Mick Slow. My House. Night.
  7. Jul 01,  · Buy Summer 08 by Metronomy on Bleep. Available on Vinyl LP, CD. Download MP3, WAV, FLAC, WAV (bit).
  8. Lyrics to 'My House' by Metronomy. I called you late again Did it to wake you up Don't fall asleep again I'm just arriving.
  9. 'Summer 08' is the first record he's made entirely by himself since 'Nights Out' eight years ago, and the freewheeling charm, inventive panache and ear for an addictive hook have not deserted him - this fifth album is an offbeat masterclass in twenty-first century pop from a quiet yet formidable maverick.
  10. However, Mount's reflections on this era don't occur in a vacuum, and the melancholia of his later work resurfaces on Summer 08's second half. Sleekly bittersweet songs like "Night Owl" and "My House" evoke The English Riviera's winning blend of motion and emotions, while "Hang Me Out to Dry," a pulsing duet with Robyn mixed by Errol Alkan (who helped raise Mount's profile back in the day 8/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *